Circulation Desk & Canned Chair
- PML Staff

- Jul 11
- 1 min read
When Parsons Memorial Library first opened its doors on August 26, 1903, the library experience looked quite different than it does today. As patrons walked through the main doors on the Kennebunk Road side, they were immediately greeted by two central pieces of furniture: our original circulation desk and its matching caned chair.
Positioned right at the beginning of the library stacks, this desk was the heart of the library's operations. In those early days, patrons didn’t roam the aisles to browse the shelves themselves. Instead, they would approach the desk, ask the librarian for a specific book, and wait while the librarian went into the stacks to retrieve it for them.
A Move to the New Addition
For 90 years, the desk and chair remained a staple of the original building. However, as the library grew and evolved to meet the needs of the community, a new addition was constructed in 1993.
Rather than leaving these historic pieces behind, the circulation desk and chair moved right along into the new space. Today, they still stand tall, serving as a functional piece of history that continues to help patrons access the materials and information they are looking for.
Preserving History for the Future
To keep these century-old pieces in working order, they require a little love and maintenance from time to time. In 2024, the historic circulation chair received a beautiful restoration when Almon Williams expertly re-caned the seat. Thanks to this craftsmanship, a vital piece of our 1903 opening day remains preserved for generations to come.










Comments